top of page

What is an Archetype?

      An archetype is an original or first pattern from which all others are made. In this particular case, when one asks

“What is an archetype?” we are talking about human archetypes. These human archetypes contain patterns or codes of behavior. Archetypes are universal, inborn models of people, behaviors, belief patterns, and/or personalities that play a role in influencing human behavior. They were introduced by the Swiss psychiatrist Carl Jung, who suggested that these archetypes were archaic forms of innate human knowledge passed down from our ancestors.   


      Archetypes are our constant companions carrying their unique patterns that influence how we look at, decipher, and choose how to navigate the world around us. Our soul speaks and guides us through the sacred by using pictures, symbols, metaphors, and archetypes that easily and spiritually communicate a certain understanding within us.

      Getting to know the shadow and light aspects of the archetypes that play a role in your life, can provide you that invaluable insight and guidance towards transformational change and growth. Discovering the symbolic language of archetypes is a very safe and impersonal way to understand the unique and intricate personal ways you interact, perceive and live your life in the manner that you do. 


     Working with specfic archetypes that speak to you,is a great way to introduce yourself to archetypal consulting and to utilize the understandings that will create change in the areas of your life that you would like to transform.

What can the Archetypes teach me?


You will see your life with clarity and acceptance

You become conscious of your fears and vulnerabilities

You understand ways to become self-empowered and self-reliant

You see how and why you self-sabotage your dreams and goals

You will see solutions and possibilities in your life, and not excuses

     You stay conscious of your divine purpose and highest potential in everything you experience



Examples of Archetypes: 

The Child “Guardian of Innocence" - responsibility, innocence, authority

The Victim “Guardian of Self-Esteem” - personal power and self-esteem

The Prostitute “Guardian of Self-Worth"- faith, integrity, and negotiation of one's power

The Saboteur “Guardian of Choice” - truth and also acts as a agent of change 


The four survival archetypes as seen through the magical metaphoric eyes of:

 “The Wizard of Oz":

The Child: Dorothy 

The Prostitute: Tin Man 

The Saboteur: Scarecrow

The Victim: Cowardly Lion

*Credit to Jim Curtain, Spiritual Director and Certified Archetypal Consultant for this brilliant way of teaching me how to explain these four archetypes as they are represented in the classic movie “The Wizard of Oz.”


         Meg is a Certified Archetypal Consultant who obtained her professional certification of study through the Sacred Contracts. (


bottom of page